Problem today.

News and comments about this board.
User avatar
1whoknows
Posts: 3600
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 1:55 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Problem today.

Post by 1whoknows »

Fleet lists working OK for me now and no obvious loss of data - however times of postings seem to be out by one hour. This is being made at 5.03pm.
"Inside Every Progressive Is A Totalitarian Screaming To Get Out"
David Horowitz.

User avatar
1whoknows
Posts: 3600
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 1:55 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Problem today.

Post by 1whoknows »

Fleet lists now working for me with no obvious loss of data.

However there appears to be a one hour issue on posting times.

This message is being posted at 5.04pm

EDIT: sorry for the second one - I thought for a minute the first post had not worked. :oops:
"Inside Every Progressive Is A Totalitarian Screaming To Get Out"
David Horowitz.

User avatar
busrider
Moderator
Posts: 2331
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:35 pm
Favourite Vehicle: Maybe not my car...
Location: Not in the Gutta

Re: Problem today.

Post by busrider »

I don't see any issues with times on the messages being posted, they are displaying the correct time for me...

User avatar
system improver
Posts: 2874
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 9:38 pm
Favourite Vehicle: 1949 MBA Seddon
Location: Melbourne

Re: Problem today.

Post by system improver »

Everything seems to be working OK. Thanks for the behind the scenes efforts to sort out the gremlins.

User avatar
Fleet Lists
Administrator
Posts: 21474
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 1:49 am
Location: The Shire

Re: Problem today.

Post by Fleet Lists »

This email is to inform you that your cPanel account (busaustr) will be migrated to a new Australian server. This will be completed on 09/01/2012 at 1am AEST with no foreseen downtime. If you are using an external dns provider this please update the A record to 119.17.160.244 after the mentioned time.
This would explain the loss of some posts about the time the cutover took place. Unfortunately the recipienet of the email was away at the time and hence we could not give any warning. It was sent on 8/1 do did not give much warning.

They always say there will be no downtime or other problems, but that's never true!

Hopefully this will sort out all the problems
Living in the Shire.

User avatar
Fleet Lists
Administrator
Posts: 21474
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 1:49 am
Location: The Shire

Re: Problem today.

Post by Fleet Lists »

1whoknows wrote:Fleet lists working OK for me now and no obvious loss of data - however times of postings seem to be out by one hour. This is being made at 5.03pm.
I have reset your daylight savings to Yes which should solve that problem.
Living in the Shire.

User avatar
gen man
Posts: 927
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 11:20 am
Favourite Vehicle: Leyland Worldmaster CRT2/1
Location: On a Greyhound track
Contact:

Re: Problem today.

Post by gen man »

What happened to all th fleet list updates made by myself & others yesterday??? I hope they haven't been lost again!!! :oops: :evil:
need red GA:521, 831.
AAT-Kings:
2014 - Year of Privatisation!

User avatar
Fleet Lists
Administrator
Posts: 21474
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 1:49 am
Location: The Shire

Re: Problem today.

Post by Fleet Lists »

I am not in a position to comment on that.
Living in the Shire.

User avatar
R44
Posts: 592
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 3:12 am
Favourite Vehicle: MO-8205
Contact:

Re: Problem today.

Post by R44 »

So, How often are backups taken? Just out of curiosity?

User avatar
Ben O
Posts: 2516
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 7:30 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Problem today.

Post by Ben O »

Can anyone confirm whether it is safe to do fleetlists updates again?

User avatar
Hornibrook
Posts: 2473
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:04 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: Problem today.

Post by Hornibrook »

R44 wrote:So, How often are backups taken? Just out of curiosity?
Every few days, sometimes a week. Last update I did was on New Year's Day, and we've seem to have lost all Tassie updates which I did two days ago, and some Victorian one's.

I note that some NSW updates have been lost too?

User avatar
Hornibrook
Posts: 2473
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:04 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: Problem today.

Post by Hornibrook »

If there was a bit more communication with those who run the board, perhaps I could've backed up the databases which constantly change BEFORE they were all moved to another server.

User avatar
Daniel
Administrator
Posts: 7035
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 11:03 am
Favourite Vehicle: Mercedes-Benz O405 / CC '510'
Location: Sutherland Shire

Re: Problem today.

Post by Daniel »

For your own information Nick, warning was given one day before the server migration took place and the board administrator was on holidays. Sometimes these things happen.

User avatar
Hornibrook
Posts: 2473
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:04 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: Problem today.

Post by Hornibrook »

Daniel wrote:For your own information Nick, warning was given one day before the server migration took place and the board administrator was on holidays. Sometimes these things happen.
Yes, I got the email too from Ken.

Point is, whenever my own website changes, I am well aware of any upcoming changes, and it seems a little short sighted to give a warning one day before, when other factions of BA require constant back ups.

It seems every year we lose updates to the lists, not out of our fault, but because of an overall server/BA issue.

User avatar
ka9102
Posts: 3667
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:34 am
Favourite Vehicle: MAN SL200
Location: QE II Square,Downtown Auckland

Re: Problem today.

Post by ka9102 »

i am having problems with the auto login,apparently the forum would not allow me to save username and password,I have to manually enter these details each time.bloody annoying!! :evil:
transporting oranges to the world...

gld59
Posts: 1432
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 8:30 am
Location: Canberra

Re: Problem today.

Post by gld59 »

I don't know exactly what's happening for you, but there may be different ways of achieving the result you want. Some browsers (eg Firefox, Opera) will allow you to save login information - Firefox, by default I think, offers to save such info whenever you login anywhere. In Firefox, go to Tools, Options, Security.

I can't speak for IE, as I try not to use it (because XP can only go as far as IE8). I would think it can also save login info, though.

gld

Post Reply

Return to “News & Administration”