Volvo E series bus, transmission problem

New Users (or anyone else) is/are welcome to ask questions in here to which the answers might be obvious to most but you simply don't know yourself or are unsure where to find the answer. You can also ask questions about the working of the forum or anything else you may think of.

Moderator: MAN 16.242

Forum rules
### This section is a NO FLAMING ZONE! That means you cannot reply "harshly", abusively, sarcastically or in any negative manner to members. ###
kik

Volvo E series bus, transmission problem

Post by kik »

Hello ladies and gents.

I am currently engaged in trying to get my elderly neighbours Volvo E series bus moving.

I am a qualified mechanic with 40 or so years in and out of the trade, so I will be familiar with any terms you may use.

I am not however a diesel mechanic and have very little experience with trucks or buses.

The bus I am currently working on has a semi-automatic transmission and it refuses to go into any gear.
I have removed the access panel to reveal the transmission and I removed the pressure release switch (at least that's what I think it is) to see if
it was getting any air to the master junction box, which revealed that there was no air in that part of the system, there is air for brakes, etc but
when you try and put the bus in gear there is no discernible clunk or any other sounds to which would relate to any engagement of any of the air valves.

When in the bus and it's running you can bring the revs up a little and it does try to move, however it does the same regardless of what gear is selected,
including reverse. My theory is that it is partially in a forward gear and that there is no air pressure getting to any of the valves to either fully engage or
disengage the gears.

Of course I could be way off, which is why I'm here.

I located a electric control box near the main air line and am curious if there is a solenoid or similar that requires a power source to activate it in order